Masters 2011 golf tournament

Thursday, April 7, 2011

Masters 2011 golf tournament
The other majors are the US Open Championship (June), the British Open Championship (July), and the PGA Championship (August). One year later, Augusta National Golf Club, with 18 holes designed by Scottish course architect Alister Mackenzie and Jones, opened for play. In March of 1934, the inaugural Augusta National Invitation Tournament was contested.

Part of the grandeur of the Masters is the natural beauty of the Augusta National course. More recent multiple Masters champions include Tom Watson, Seve Ballesteros, Bernhard Langer, Ben Crenshaw, Nick Faldo, Jose Maria Olazabal, Tiger Woods, and Phil Mickelson.
Jack Nicklaus has the most Masters wins (6).

2008 winner Trevor Immelman first played in 1999. Tiger Woods first played the course in 1995 before winning it all in 1997. Martin Laird - Ranked 21st in the world and recent winner of the Arnold Palmer Invitational, Laird is hardly a sleeper. Ricky Fowler - Known for his colorful clothing, Fowler is becoming known for his golf game as well. Jhonattan Vegas - Thanks to his early-season win at the Bob Hope Classic, he's an automatic qualifier.

Defending champion Phil Mickelson is in the same group with U.S. Amateur champion Peter Uihlein, one of the many traditions at Augusta National. Other notable groups include Martin Kaymer and Lee Westwood, the top two players in the world, joined by Matt Kuchar.

  © Blogger US News Today 2008

Back to TOP